Heading Slider Logo Au Cheval Blanc

Chef Pascal Bastian

The Chef's career

In 2008, Pascal Bastian and his wife took up the reins of the Cheval Blanc, a restaurant that the Chef knew well, since it was here that he began his career.

In 1996, after coming second in the 'Best Apprentice of Eastern France' awards, the young chef joined the restaurant in Lembach run by renowned Chef Fernand Mischler. Pascal Bastian worked as commis chef, an experience that helped him develop his professionalism, discipline, knowledge and skills, as well as an incurable love for this charming Alsatian establishment.

This was followed by a culinary odyssey throughout France and Europe, working in the kitchens of prestigious restaurants, such as Le Pont de Brent in Montreux, Le Domaine Les Crayères in Reims, Le Château des Reynats in Périgord, and L’Hostellerie de Plaisance in Saint-Emilion.

In 2007, having become parents, Pascal Bastian and his wife Carole wanted to return to their home region – Alsace. It was at L’Arnsbourg, a gastronomic restaurant at the foot of the Northern Vosges, that Pascal Bastian took his chef's hat and apron, this time working as second chef.

In 2008, the Bastians began a new adventure and succeeded Fernand Mischler at the Cheval Blanc. This was a natural and inspiring choice for the Chef, who loves the restaurant and the region and knows them intimately.

The Chef and his team have brought a fresh wind and approach to this former coaching inn, while respecting the precious heritage that has been handed down to them. Working tirelessly and with passion, this local thoroughbred Chef earned a first star in the Michelin Guide in 2009, followed by a second star in 2015, as well as three 'chef's hats' in the Gault & Millau Guide.

The Chef
In the kitchen
Logo
Carole and Pascal Bastian
Herbs, peas and mushrooms

Specialities

The Chef's recommendations:

Roasted back of turbot with a Piedmont hazelnut crust, pomelos, frothy brown butter

'Cheval Blanc' goose foie gras with Pinot Noir, Williams pear chutney, crispy yoghurt and Dampfnüdel

Goose foie gras with Pinot Noir
Turbot with hazelnut crust

Heading Slider Logo Au Cheval Blanc

Le Chef Pascal Bastian

Parcours du chef

C’est en 2008 que Pascal Bastian et son épouse reprennent les rênes du Cheval Blanc, un restaurant que le Chef connaît bien puisque c’est ici même qu’il a fait ses premières armes.

En effet, en 1996, après avoir été classé second concours du « Meilleur Apprenti du Grand Est de la France », le jeune cuisinier rejoint le restaurant à Lembach que dirige alors le célèbre Chef Fernand Mischler. Pascal Bastian officie en tant que commis de cuisine, une expérience au cours de laquelle il apprend rigueur, discipline et savoir-faire tout en tombant irrémédiablement sous le charme de cette maison alsacienne.

S’en suit un périple gastronomique à travers la France et l’Europe, travaillant tour à tour dans les prestigieuses cuisines du Pont de Brent à Montreux, du Domaine Les Crayères à Reims, du Château de Reynats dans le Périgord, de l’Hostellerie de Plaisance à Saint-Emilion…

En 2007, devenus parents, Pascal Bastian et son épouse Carole souhaitent se rapprocher de leur Alsace natale. C’est tout d’abord à L’Arnsbourg, restaurant gastronomique au pied des Vosges du Nord, que Pascal Bastian enfile toque et tablier, cette fois en tant que Chef en Second.

En 2008, les Bastian se lancent dans une nouvelle aventure : celle de succéder à Fernand Mischler au Cheval Blanc. Rien de plus naturel et de plus motivant pour le jeune Chef qui aime et connaît parfaitement la maison et la région.

Le Chef et son équipe font depuis souffler sur cet ancien relais de poste un vent de jeunesse et de renouveau, tout en respectant le précieux héritage qui leur a été confié. Un investissement de chaque instant qui a valu au destrier alsacien de décrocher une première étoile au Guide Michelin® en 2009 puis une deuxième étoile en 2015 ainsi que 3 toques au Guide Gault & Millau®.

Le Chef
En cuisine
Logo
Carole et Pascal Bastian
Herbes, petits pois et champignons

Spécialités

Les coups de cœur du Chef :

Dos de turbot rôti en croûte de noisettes du Piémont, pomelos, beurre noisette mousseux

Foie gras d'oie Cheval Blanc au Pinot Noir, chutney de poire Williams, crispy yaourt et Dampfnudle

Foie gras d'oie au Pinot Noir
Turbot en croûte de noisettes